I read this:

 http://educationblog.dallasnews.com/2016/05/bumpy-staar-tests-unacceptable-but-will-still-be-used-in-accountability-texas-schools-chief-says.html/?mc_cid=ab3df5f237&mc_eid=60d2550809

So I sent this:

From: Belcher, Kim

Sent: Tuesday, May 03, 2016 2:17 PM

To: commissioner@tea.texas.gov

 

Good afternoon, Commissioner.

 I fully understand the movement to paint schools out as “failures” so they can be “rescued” by the private sector cronies who are licking their chops to get at public funds.  As despicable as that aspect of the reform movement may be, I find the fact that we press on using our kids and teachers pretty much the lowest form of life that can be found in education today.

I know that I am just a mom and do not have the educational experience that even the least educated on your staff holds, but I think that you are missing  a huge opportunity to extend an olive branch to the communities that are going to have to buy off on having their schools sold out as charters/districts of innovation/community schools, etc.

 I am baffled as to why you would not take the opportunity to consider, at a minimum, having these tests and any re-tests eliminated from teacher and student records/requirements for this school year, even if you would continue to use them to gain a general measurement idea of a school’s performance.  While it would throw a temporary kink in the speed of which this takeover of public schools is happening, you could at least buy yourself some room with the angry parent mob, while still getting to label the schools.

 Just my two cents, for what it is worth.

 

